Donald Trump Bans 7 Muslim-Majority Nations

Donald Trump
Donald Trump (photo:Slate)
By M. GraceJanuary 30th, 2017

Donald Trump signed an order for the temporary ban of seven Muslim-majority countries and all refugees from entering United States.

The said order signed by Trump on Friday, January 27, is a way to establish "new vetting measures to keep radical Islamic terrorists out of the United States of America."

"We don't want them here," said Trump. "We want to ensure that we are not admitting into our country the very threats our soldiers are fighting overseas."

According to the order, countries banned from Us are the Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. It was also added that these countries are just the start and that Trump could add more.

However, some of the world leaders were not happy to Trump's move.

"The needs of refugees and migrants worldwide have never been greater and the US resettlement programme is one of the most important in the world," said the United Nations refugee agency and the International Organization for Migration on a joint statement.

"The reception of refugees fleeing the war, fleeing oppression, is part of our duties,"  France's foreign minister Jean-Marc Ayrault said.

Numerous advocacy and aid groups have expressed their outrage. Several people have come for rally against the US president.

"It's not a Muslim ban, but we were totally prepared," Donald Trump insisted. "It's working out very nicely. You see it at the airports, you see it all over."

related articles